I have the same version of Payara Server ( running on two different machines. I do not have the same list of available cipher suites between the two. What determines the available cipher suites in Payara and GlassFish?

enter image description here


We needed to download the Java Cryptography Extension to get the Cipher Suites we we were looking for. Installation consisted of copying the local_policy.jar and US_export_policy.jar from the download into the $JAVA_HOME/jre/lib/security directory, overwriting the existing copies.

| improve this answer | |
  • I did exactly that (and restarted Payara5) but the list in 'Available Common Cipher Suites' did not change. It only shows two TLS_* suites. I need SSL_RSA_WITH_3DES_EDE_CBC_SHA, as in Glassfish3 on Java 1.6. Any idea how that can be fixed? – Per Lindberg Apr 3 '19 at 7:49
  • And, by the way, jdk1.8.0_192 has the two policy files in both jre/lib/security/policy/limited and ditto .../unlimited. Unfortunately, replacing those four files didn't help, either. – Per Lindberg Apr 3 '19 at 8:01

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.