2

Sometimes the proverbial excrement hits the fan and I need to reinstall the OS on a laptop or something. This isn't an issue.

Normally, I follow the following procedure:

  • delete the computer from the AD
  • reinstall OS
  • set the host-name to match the old setting
  • rejoin the domain

I'm wondering... what would happen (if anything) if I skipped the first step and just rejoined the domain with the same host-name?

1

Nothing at all. That is perfectly fine. As soon as the machine joins the domain it sends in it's hostname and renews/sets its trust. This would only be an issue if two machines had the same hostname, the machine being rebuilt would join the domain, where the old one would get kicked off (it would invalid the trust).

TL:DR; Nothing, this is fine, you can rebuild without deleting it from AD.

3
  • Good question ;) – Joe Brailsford Jun 21 '17 at 9:06
  • Feel free to mark the answer as accepted ;) – Joe Brailsford Jun 21 '17 at 12:34
  • I tend to accept answers after a small delay to let others throw in their 2 cents. ;) – Shaamaan Jun 21 '17 at 12:39

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.