0

I accidentally modified NetworkManager with the command.

nmcli con modify eno1 ipv4.dns-options 'single-request-reopen timeout:2 ndots:0'

I think the modification hasn't been activated since I haven't restarted the device.

I don't know the previous value of the setting.

How can I undo the modification to the previous one?

2

Set it to the empty string, which also happens to be the default.

# nmcli c m eno1 ipv4.dns-options ''

You will then see that the field has reverted to its default value.

# nmcli --fields ipv4.dns-options c s eno1
ipv4.dns-options:                       (default)
| improve this answer | |
  • I found that this turned to empty(default) but not to the previous value. – kujiy Jun 28 '18 at 2:25
  • @kujiy It's not normally necessary to set these options at all, so the empty string is fine. Unless you absolutely know you need one of the options to solve a specific problem (and on a normal network that's unlikely). – Michael Hampton Jul 1 '18 at 21:41

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.